How we pick auto-apply tools
Paper Trail ranks six auto-apply tools from their own pricing pages, help centers and terms, read on November 8, 2026: AIApply, Dreamwork (our publisher), Simplify, JobCopilot, LoopCV and LazyApply. We score what those pages confirm. We did not sign up, send applications, survey users or measure interview rates.
How did we review the tools?
We started from the tools people name when they ask which auto-apply tool to use: LazyApply, AIApply, JobCopilot, Simplify, Jobright, Massive, LoopCV, BulkApply and Sonara, plus Dreamwork (dreamworkhq.com), which publishes this site. For each one we read only the company's own pages. Third-party reviews and directories were not used as sources, even where they had prices we could not find elsewhere.
We dropped tools whose sites we could not reach (BulkApply, Sonara) and did not rank tools that publish no price (Massive, Jobright), because a cost per application is central to this site. They are listed under "Also checked" on the home page with what we could confirm.
Dreamwork's facts come from a fact sheet maintained by Dreamwork, not from a separate reading of its site. Everything we say about Dreamwork is limited to that sheet. Its refund and data pages are cited separately on the sources page. Where it is silent, the table says so.
We have 34 sources, each listed with its URL and the date we read it on the sources page.
What do the marks mean?
Each tool gets one mark per row on the comparison form. A mark is a statement about the tool's own pages, not about what the product does when you use it.
- Yes.Yes. The tool's pages say it does this on a plan you can buy.
- Partly or with conditions.Partly. Only on a higher plan, as a paid add-on, or with a stated limit.
- No.No. The tool's pages say it does not.
- Not stated on its pages.Not stated. We could not find it on the tool's pages. This is not a no.
How is the ranking ordered?
Each pick is a use case first. The order of the list reflects how much a buyer can confirm before paying. We counted two points for a yes and one for a partly on six rows: a resume rewritten per job, a cover letter per job, screening answers, employer forms, job boards, and a way to check before sending. We left out LinkedIn Easy Apply, because doing it breaks LinkedIn's terms, and fully automatic mode, which every tool has. The list is sorted by points. A tie goes to the tool with the lower cost per application, using the lowest figure on any of its paid plans; if that also ties, alphabetical order decides. The same rule applies to every tool, including Dreamwork. Nothing else moves a tool up or down.
| Rank | Tool | Points | Per application |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | AIApply | 10 / 12 | $0.27 to $0.73 |
| 2 | Dreamwork | 10 / 12 | $0.66 to $0.78 |
| 3 | Simplify | 8 / 12 | $0.35 to $1.00 |
| 4 | JobCopilot | 7 / 12 | $0.02 to $0.05 |
| 5 | LoopCV | 6 / 12 | $0.20 |
| 6 | LazyApply | 3 / 12 | under $0.02 |
AIApply and Dreamwork tie on 10 points. AIApply's lowest cost per application is $0.27 and Dreamwork's is $0.66, so AIApply ranks first. That $0.27 is for the same resume sent to every job; with both tailoring add-ons, AIApply costs $0.49 to $0.73. Dreamwork keeps its use-case pick, tailored applications you can check first, because its tailoring is in the base price and Review first holds each application for you. Simplify is third on 8 points, JobCopilot fourth on 7, LoopCV fifth on 6 and LazyApply last on 3, because its pages leave most rows unstated.
Dreamwork has a confirmed yes on every row we score except job boards, where its fact sheet says it reads company career sites instead. Dreamwork publishes this site. That is a conflict of interest, which is why the tie rule is mechanical and why we publish the points, the per-application maths and every source.
How is cost per application worked out?
Cost per application is the plan price divided by the applications the plan allows in the same period. Weekly credits are multiplied by 52 and divided by 12 to get a month. Daily caps are multiplied by the days in the period, which assumes you use every one; that flatters daily-capped plans like LazyApply and JobCopilot. Where a plan charges extra for tailoring, we show the price with and without it. Taxes, currency conversion and promotional prices are left out.
What did we not do?
- We did not use any of these tools to send applications.
- We did not measure response or interview rates, and we do not repeat vendors' own claims about them.
- We did not survey users or quote reviews.
- We did not check whether employers can tell an application came from a tool.
What has changed on this site?
- November 8, 2026, second revision. The ownership disclosure moved from a box at the top of each page to the footer of every page, with the note "(our publisher)" beside Dreamwork's name wherever a page recommends or ranks it. Review pages now answer one question per section. On phones, the comparison form shows one record per tool instead of a sideways-scrolling table. Two "cheapest tailored" claims that our own cost table did not support were removed, and Simplify's pick now reads "Best for tailored applying to internships and new-grad roles". No vendor facts or scores changed.
- November 8, 2026, first revision. Ties are now broken by a stated rule: lower cost per application, then alphabetical. This moved AIApply to first and Dreamwork to second; the first edition had placed Dreamwork first on our judgment. Dreamwork's refund terms and data page were added, replacing two "not stated" cells. The site's design was replaced.
- November 8, 2026. First edition. Six tools ranked, two listed without a rank, two left out. All sources read on this date.